Katalay.net

The Night Tiger A Novel By Yangsze Choo

0 163

The Night Tiger A Novel By Yangsze Choo

"A lush garden labyrinth of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world." IrkKirkus

By New York Times best-selling author Yangsze Choo, an absolutely transporting novel from 1930's colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee

Clever, ambitious Ji Lin is a seamstress, a ballroom girl in the moonlight, helping to pay off her mother's mahjong debt. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves a cruel memory, Ji Lin can finally get the adventure she longs for.

The eleven-year-old boy, Ren, is also on a mission to fulfill the dying wish of his former master: that Ren finds the finger of the man he had lost years ago in an accident and buried him in his body. Ren has 49 days, or the soul of his Lord will walk forever on earth.

As the days go by, a series of unexplained deaths raid the district, along with a whisper of men turning into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren's increasingly dangerous trails criss-cross lush plantations, hospital storehouses, and ghostly dreamscapes.

Yangsze Choo's The Night Tiger takes us into a world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern idealism, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. However, anchoring this dazzling, impelling novel is the intimate coming of a child and a young woman, each seeking their place in a society that prefers to remain invisible.

"A work of incredible beauty ... Amazingly captivating and striking ... A transcendent story of courage and connection." Book list (marked rating)

Write a Review

Facebook Comments

Booking.com

Recent Posts

Magnolia Kitchen - Inspired Baking with Personality By Bernadette GeeMagnolia Kitchen - Inspired Baking with Personality By Bernadette Gee

Bets of Magnolia Kitchen is known for its artistic cake...

0 128
The Blue Castle By L. M. MontgomeryThe Blue Castle By L. M. Montgomery

The final paperback editions of popular novels by L.M. ...

0 189
Come with Me A Novel By Helen SchulmanCome with Me A Novel By Helen Schulman

A San Francisco Chronicle Best Book of the Year, A New ...

0 156

Most Read

Educated: A Memoir, Tara WestoverEducated: A Memoir, Tara Westover

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • An unforgettable memoir ...

0 1.303
My Sister's Grave By Robert Dugoni (The Tracy Crosswhite Series Book 1)My Sister's Grave By Robert Dugoni (The Tracy Crosswhite Series Book 1)

The first book in the series that has garnered millions...

0 1.118
All We Ever Wanted: A Novel, Emily GiffinAll We Ever Wanted: A Novel, Emily Giffin

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the riveting new novel f...

0 1.115

Popular Posts

First 100 Words, Board BookFirst 100 Words, Roger Priddy

Your little one will soon learn some essential first wo...

0 670
The 5 Love Languages: The Secret To Love That LastsThe 5 Love Languages: The Secret To Love That Lasts, Gary Chapman

Over 11 million copies sold#1 New York Times Bestseller...

0 849
All We Ever Wanted: A Novel, Emily GiffinAll We Ever Wanted: A Novel, Emily Giffin

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the riveting new novel f...

0 1.115

Donate

Tags